When creating a new user account for your website, specific roles can be assigned that give that user the ability to do more than just viewing your content, such as writing comments, editing content or managing other users. Your website can have many different roles and an unlimited number of users can be assigned to each role. This feature becomes particularly useful when you want to have a team of people managing your website.
By default, your website has the following roles:
Any person who uses a website without logging in is known as an anonymous user.
An authenticated user is a person who can log in to your website, but with very limited capabilities. These users can then do basic thing such as leaving comments (if enabled), accessing their own account details, or checking their order history, but they do not have any administrative privileges and they cannot edit any content.
A person who can make changes to your website is know as a super user. These users can typically edit existing content, create new pages, change menus, build forms, manage other users and change the configuration of the website.
Your website can have many different roles, so it's possible to have groups of users who have different privileges. For example, you might want a group of users who can edit page content, but only for certain content types (e.g. edit articles, but not edit products). Another example is you can have a group of users who can edit any page content, but cannot manage users or change menu options. Setting up different roles gives users the ability to manage different sections of a website.
The roles that are available for your website can be applied when creating a new user account, or when editing an exisiting user account.